This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Chart doesn't update when adding new rows to an existing Excel table (not without having to use named ranges)

Dec 20, 2012 at 10:37 AM

I'm really new to the use of closedXMl and Excel too(at least for this purpose) so sorry if I'm asking silly questions.

I know that closedXML doesn't support charts yet so the only thing that came to mind to get around this was to create my chart using an excel table . That way I thought ClosedXML would update the ranges when I inserted new rows and the chart would pick up on it. Well , it didn't. At least not when I add the rows from code using the closedXML library.

What is curious is that adding new rows from inside excel automatically updates the chart but if I want to get that same result from code, I have to use OFFSET formula along with named ranges and then set the chart source data to these named ranges. That's why I'd like to know if if there is anything wrong with the code I use to insert new rows:

Dim ruta As String = Server.MapPath("~/Templates/MyTemplate.xlsx")
    Dim wb As New XLWorkbook(ruta)
    Dim ws = wb.Worksheet(1)

Dim tblData = ws.Table("Table1")

Dim year As Integer = 2000
    For i As Integer = 1 To 13

With tblData.DataRange.LastRow()
            .Field("Year").SetValue(year)
            .Field("Sales").SetValue(CInt(Math.Floor((2000 - 500 + 1) * Rnd())) + 500)
        End With
        tblData.DataRange.InsertRowsBelow(1)
        year = year + 1
    Next

tblData.LastRow.Delete()

As you can see the code is very simple and so is the template , that consists of only two columns :"Year"(table1[Year]) and "Sales"(Table1[Sales]

I don't think this has anything to do with my template because as I told you, adding new rows directly from excel works as expected and it is only when I generate the table from code that the chart series doesn't include the new row that were added