This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Large Files - OutOfMemory Exception

May 31, 2011 at 8:23 PM

Hi all,

I'm brand new to ClosedXML so apologies if I am repeating a question already asked and addressed. I looked around but had trouble finding info about it.

I am trying to simply open a large Excel file (17MB) for some simple read-only processing. I try to do the following code and it starts eating up memory like crazy:

var /*XLWorkbook*/ workbook = new XLWorkbook("story.xlsx");
var /*IXLWorksheet*/ ws = workbook.Worksheet("Sheet1");

It goes very slow on the first line of code and doesn't get past it. It eats up all of my system memory until the OOM exception is thrown. I also tried using a File Stream to see if this would help:

FileStream fs = new FileStream(docName, FileMode.Open, FileAccess.ReadWrite, FileShare.Read);
var /*XLWorkbook*/ workbook = new XLWorkbook(fs);
var /*IXLWorksheet*/ ws = workbook.Worksheet(sheetName);

Same problem once again. What is the recommended approach to handle large files with ClosedXML?  Thanks in advance for a quick response.

Doug

Coordinator
May 31, 2011 at 9:52 PM

If the information is not confidential send me a PM so you can send me the file for testing. Otherwise how many worksheets and cells per worksheet does your file has?

May 31, 2011 at 10:03 PM

The file can be found here:

http://www.nirodhasoftware.com/usuhs/events.xlsx

Coordinator
Jun 1, 2011 at 12:47 AM
Edited Jun 1, 2011 at 12:52 AM

Thanks for the feedback. I'm improving the performance based on that file. Let's see if I can make it load that file in a reasonable amount of time, if at all.

Coordinator
Jun 2, 2011 at 7:26 PM

To be honest, as it is right now, I don't think I'll be able to get it to the point where you can open a file of that size in a timely manner. I'm making a lot of improvements (all of which will make it to the next release) but even then I'm just shaving seconds from something that takes minutes.

Sorry.