This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

How to display excel file without using SaveAS method

Jan 22, 2011 at 6:07 AM

Thanks for your wonderful ClosedXML. I am new to ClosedXML and i am trying to display my data to Excel. But in sample code SaveAS method used.

Do we have any way to disply the excel file instead of saving ?

Coordinator
Jan 22, 2011 at 6:30 AM

Nope, I have so much left to do with ClosedXML I can only dream of building a spreadsheet component. You'd have to use a commercial software for that...

Jan 22, 2011 at 6:40 AM

Thanks for reply. I think i didn't expalin clearly. I want to display the data instead of saving(SaveAS Method) by using ClosedXML.

Coordinator
Jan 22, 2011 at 7:05 AM

Then I don't understand what you mean by "display the data". Please clarify that...

Jan 22, 2011 at 9:06 AM

@kartookforyou:  you can simply read cell by cell and display it in a gridview right?.

Jan 22, 2011 at 4:21 PM

Just i used your Hello World code.Its saving the xlsx file in a directory. I want to open a excel file in browser and i want to display the Hello World.

Thanks for your replies.

Coordinator
Jan 22, 2011 at 8:47 PM

This is used to create Excel files not to display them in any way. You'll have to get a commercial component if you want to display the spreadsheets on your web page.

If you only want to present the data then do as prasun said and build your table/grid manually. Although I don't see the point in putting values in a spreadsheet only to put the same values into an html table and discard the spreadsheet.

Jan 23, 2011 at 4:40 AM

Thanks for your reply. So we can't use this in a web based report generation application as file will be stored in Server. Please let me where exactly ClosedXML will be used ?

Coordinator
Jan 23, 2011 at 5:13 AM